LISACON-2021 National Conference on Open Scholarship and Libraries

Scheduled at VTU Belagavi during 6-8 January 2022

Scheduled at VTU Belagavi during 6-8 January 2022


Pragativahini, News, Belagavi – Visvesvaraya Technological University and the Department of Public Libraries are jointly organizing the 4th LIS Academy National Conference LISACON-2021 on Open Scholarship and Libraries from 6-8 January 2022 at Dr.Abdul Kalam Auditorium, VTU Belagavi.

About LIS Academy

The LIS Academy (Library & Information Science Academy) is a professional charitable Trust established to work for the professional development and assist Libraries with state-of-the-art technology and Librarians with the updated training. The LIS Academy has a tagline, “Learn Inspire Serve.” It aims to become the best, active and dynamic professional body by supporting the professionals with the essential knowledge, skills, and values of librarianship using innovative and cutting-edge technology and by adopting best and fair practices and innovative ideas.


About the Conference:

Open scholarship is an emerging trend in making “Information for all” or “Knowledge for all.” Under its broad umbrella, diverse concepts like ‘open access publishing’, ‘open education’, ‘open science/data’, ‘open research / innovation’, ‘open-source / code’, are emerging by entwining with digital technology advancements. The libraries’ key players in creating an ‘informed society’ can significantly foster open scholarship. Libraries need to strategically reinvent and reposition themselves to cater to open scholarship, which has opened up new avenues for the LIS community. The new portfolios, such as OA. Publishing facilitation, RDM, open education & pedagogy, open content creation, etc., need to be addressed proactively by LIS professionals. The 4th LISACON conference on Open Scholarship and Libraries is an effort to bring in world-class experts in the field to share their initiatives, case studies, and success stories. The participants will have a unique platform to learn, discuss and deliberate on various aspects of Open scholarship.


The Conference will be inaugurated by Professor K Siddappa, former Vice-Chancellor of Bangalore University and eminent Scient in Physics. Prof.Thimme Gouda, Hon’ble Vice Chairman, Karnataka State Higher Education Council, will deliver the Keynote Address. Prof.A.P.Singh, Director-General Raja Rammohun Roy Library Foundation (RRRLF), Kolkata, Prof.T.D.Kemparaju, Former Vice-Chancellor, Bangalore North University, Prof.Dayanand Agasar, Hon’ble Vice-chancellor, Gulbarga University, Dr.Satish Kumar Hosamani, Director Department of Public Libraries, will be the guests of Honour. Prof.Karisiddappa, Hon’ble Vice-chancellor, VTU Belagavi, will be presiding over the Inaugural Function.

The event will also witness the launching of Proficiency Courses proposed by VTU in collaboration with LIS Academy. The six short-term evening courses offered will be started from February 2022 by LIS Academy in VTU Regional Centre Bangalore. These courses are oriented to enhance the skillsets of working Librarians and train them to be fit for next-generation libraries.

The dignitaries will felicitate the following LIS Academy Awardees during the Inaugural function:


Dr.S.R.Ranganathan Award 

for Life Time Achievement in Library & Information Science


Prof.P.Sadashiva Murthy, ( Former Professor & Head, Department of Library & Information Science, Bangalore University, Bangalore)

Dr.H.Narasimhaiah Award for Life Time Achievement in Higher Education

Prof. B.Thimme Gowda, (Vice Chairman, Karnataka State Higher Education Council,

Gandhi Nagar, Bangalore)

LIS Leadership Award (Library & Information Science)

Prof. Ajay Pratap Singh, Director-General, Raja Rammohun Roy Library Foundation (RRRLF), Kolkatta

Dr. T.B Rajashekhar Fellowship – 1, (Library & Information Science)

Dr. P.Kannan, (Scientist – E (L.S.) Information and Library Network Centre (INFLIBNET), Infocity, Gandhinagar-382007)

Dr. T.B Rajashekhar Fellowship – 2 (Library & Information Science)

 Dr.Santosh C. Hulagabali 

(University Librarian, Central University of Haryana, Mahendergarh Haryana State)

The broader theme of Open scholarship is divided in to five sub-themes and the following five academic sessions are conducted in the Conference ending with a Panel discussion.

  • Open Access Publishing
  • Open Education: OER (Open Education Resources), Open pedagogy
  • Open Science / Data: Data Repositories
  • Open Source / Code: Theme
  • O.S. Ethical Issues

Panel Discussion Topic: NEP and Open Scholarship: Road Ahead

Following Experts will participate in the Panel discussion:

Panel Moderator:

Dr. Nagappa Bakkannanavar, (Branch Head, IRC, Tata Consultancy Services, Bengaluru)


 NALINI ATUL, (IAS, Additional Commissioner, Public Instructions Kalburgi Division, Kalaburagi)

N.V. Sathyanarayana, Chairman and Managing Director, Informatics (India) Limited, Bengaluru

Dr.H.S.Siddamallaiah, (Former Principal Librarian, NIMHANS, Bengaluru)

Prof. Muttayya-Koganuramath, (Former Professor, School of Library & Information Science, Central University of Gujarat)

Dr.Anand Byrappa, ( Librarian, J.R.D. Tata Memorial Library (JRDTML), IISc, Bengaluru)

Valedictory Function Friday, 8th January 2022, 4.45pm to 6.00pm

Dr. IRN Goudar, (Former Head, ICAST, National Aerospace Laboratories (NAL), Bangalore)

Following eminent international and National Scholars are delivering their Plenary Talk during the Conference:

  • Stephen Downes, Information Scientist, Digital Technologies Research Centre, National Research Council of Canada 
  • Pablo De Castro Chief Executive, Research Information Management’ Edinburgh, United Kingdom 
  • L Venkatakrishnan, Head, Experimental Aerodynamics Divisionn.
  • National Aerospace Laboratories (NAL-CSIR) Bangalore.
  • Satish Annigeri, Professor, School of Civil Engineering, KLE Technological University, Hubballi,
  • K. Muralidhar, Professor, Jawaharlal Nehru Chair, School of Life Sciences , University of Hyderabad

The Conference Valedictory address will be delivered by Prof. C. Venkataramana Reddy Vice-Chancellor, K.K. University Berauti, Nalanda, Bihar, Prof.Annigeri Former Registrar Evaluation VTU will be the Guest of Honour and Prof.A.S.Deshpande, Registrar VTU will preside over the Valedictory Function on 8th January at 3.00pm.


Inaugural Session of 3rd edition of TECHBHARAT 2022 Today

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

You cannot copy content of this page